PROCEDURES FOR 48 HOUR CREMATION WAIVER

Listed below is the Parmer County Justice of the Peace procedures and guideline to receive a 48-hour cremation waiver.

We would like to start off by saying no cremation order waiver is necessary for deaths that occurred more than 48-hours prior. Although Texas Health and Safety Code 716.004 does require Justice of the Peace and Medical Examiners to have a published procedure for the public who has lost a loved one to apply for the 48-hour waiver. Listed below is Parmer County Justice of the Peace, Guidelines to apply to obtain a 48-hour waiver for cremation. We recommend you obtain help from the funeral home and Director of your choosing to obtain the 48-hour waiver.

- 1. An application must be filled out and sent to the Judge for approval. This application can be obtained from funeral home or by going online to the Parmer County Justice of the Peace website.
- 2. The application must be filled out completely and must be signed by the family member and funeral home director. Once this application is completed and signed you may contact the Judge's office listed on application. If after hours the on-call Judge can be reached by calling the Parmer County Sheriff's Office at (806) 481-3303.
- 3. If your application is approved the Judge will send a cremation authorization form to your funeral home director.

THE JUDGE CANNOT GRANT THE CREMATION WAIVER UNLESS THE JUDGE CONDUCTS THE INQUEST

Please accept our deepest sympathies and condolences in this time of grief. We are here to do everything we can to help you in your time of grief.

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE PRECINCT 1, 2 & 3 PARMER COUNTY

APPLICATION FOR CREMATION AUTHORIZATION

It is the law of the State of Texas that a crematory establishment may not cremate human remains within 48 hours of the time of death indicated on a death certificate, unless the waiting period is waived in accordance with the *Health and Safety Code* §716.004.

To initiate a request for a waiver of the 48-hour waiting period for cremation, the requestor must contact the Justice of the Peace for the Precinct in which the death occurred. The contact information is as follows:

Parmer County JP Precinct 1 806-250-2412; email: rhonda.wilkins@parmercounty.texas.gov

Parmer County JP Precinct 2 806-251-1356; email: deena.lucero@parmercounty.texas.gov

Parmer County JP Precinct 3 806-481-9964; email: pamela.haseloff@parmercounty.texas.gov

DECEASED NAME	DOB:	
ADDRESS		STATE
DATE OF DEATH	PLACE OF DEATH	
NAME OF CREMATORY	PHONE	
ADDRESS	CITY	STATE
NAME OF FUNERAL HOME		
ADDRESS	CITY	STATE

REASON FOR REQUESTING 48 HOURS WAIVER: PERSON REQUESTING WAIVER _____ DATE _____ (NEXT OF KIN)

SIGNATURE OF FUNERAL DIRECTOR	_ DATE